Our Staff

As the Sarasota Housing Authority transitioned from a troubled agency to a high performing one, it has gone through a significant turnover in staff, especially at the management level. SHA is confident that the staff we now employ are highly trained and fully capable of successfully carrying out our mission in serving our families and our community. We are pleased to introduce you to our Principal Staff team:

William (Bill) Russell

President & CEO
(941) 361-6210, ext. 224
wrussell@sarasotahousing.org

William Russell is the President & CEO of the Sarasota Housing Authority. Born and raised in Dallas, Texas, Bill received a Bachelor’s of Arts in Political Science with Honors from Millsaps College and a Master’s in Public Administration from Syracuse University’s Maxwell School. For the past 16 years William has dedicated himself to a career in affordable housing serving in various capacities with the City of New York, the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development in Washington, D.C., where he was Deputy Assistant Secretary, and currently as the CEO of the Sarasota Housing Authority. He is married to his wife Kirsten and they have a daughter. William is a Leadership Florida (Class XXXII) and Leadership Sarasota alum, past president of the Sarasota County Civic League, past president and current board member of the Florida Association of Housing and Redevelopment Officials (FAHRO) and board member of the Florida Coalition of Affordable Housing Providers (CAHP).

Sharla Frantz

VP of Finance & Administration
(941) 361-6210, ext. 228
sfrantz@sarasotahousing.org

Paula Scruggs

VP of Housing (Occupancy, Regulatory & General Management)
(941) 361-6210, ext. 229
pscruggs@sarasotahousing.org

Ken Waters

VP of Resident Services
(941) 361-6210, ext. 261
kwaters@sarasotahousing.org

Bernadette Crummer

Director of Asset Management & Modernization (Capital Improvement & Physical Property Management)
(941) 361-6210, 251
bcrummer@sarasotahousing.org

John Hawthorne

Development & Community Relations
(941) 361-6210, 243
jhawthorne@sarasotahousing.org

Andrea Keddell

Executive Assistant to the CEO
(941) 361-6210, ext. 221
akeddell@sarasotahousing.org